Part 4: Die for metal. (1995 – 1999)

Saturday, 27 December, 2008

moonspell - wolfheartthe gathering - mandylion

I had listened to Rage Against the Machine years before and was a little familiar with heavy metal like Manowar, Megadeth and Blind Guardian through high school friends. But it was when Moonspell as a support band to Morbid Angel played at Pumpehuset in 1995 I got hooked. This sound was majestic, symphonic and gothic. As Moonspell was signed at the German record company Century Media I became familiar with The Gathering, Tiamat and Samael. And through mail order from Nuclear Blast I bought lots of albums including the Black metal acts Dimmu Borgir, Cradle of Filth and The Kovenant.
I was also found of Type O Negative. Sadly their concert was cancelled in 1996 cause of a down tool by Danish truck drivers. I could have got a free concert with Marilyn Manson, but in anger and sorrow I refused and went home. Doh!
I was to regret this a couple of month later, as I heard – and immediately loved – “Antichrist Superstar”. This was their breakthrough and I believe the record and the gossip have had a huge impact on later artists. Maybe more than people actually realize.

Leave a Reply

