Review: Mount Eerie (w. Julie Doiron and Fred Squire) – Lost Wisdom

Tuesday, 13 January, 2009

mount eerie - lost wisdom

I remember listening to Mount Eerie in 2004, as there was great hype as he visited Copenhagen for some month. I didn’t see him performing LIVE at Play/rec, but I was told it was an inspirational experience. All I heard was a meek recording from the Microphones, which made me disregard this artist and his work.

This lasted until November 2008 as I heard “Voice in headphones”. That song along with “Lost Wisdom” both from the album of “Lost wisdom” are great songs that surprised me. And the rest of the album has convinced me to judge Mount Eerie differently

The music is Lo-Fi but not rattled. The record is made in a few days with Julie Doiron (vocals, Erics Trip) and Fred Squire (guitar). It gives a raw, unpolished album that is on level with the lyrics. The harmonies, duets and accompaniment between Phil Elverum and Julie Doiron are beautiful and give the love story more presence.
The lyrics are intimate, but never to personal and knowingly. Writing about (broken) love can be a cliché, but Phil Elverum knows his poetry and is writing right into my heart. Using simple textual tricks like ‘undo, I do’ and ‘well, come on welcome in’ shows his attention on his voice and vocals. He tells the story without singing it directly: “Every time I get my face dry you sing” understood as he’s moved to tears.

And let me end this recommendation with more of simple, strong lyrics:
“With your hand down the throat you held on to my heart and pumped blood through”.

Leave a Reply

