Beautiful boring post rock: Mono at Loppen Copenhagen 2009

Tuesday, 31 March, 2009

mono live anders_jensenliva ventura

Since I bought “You are there” (and even more with “Palmless Prayers/ Mass Murder Refrain”) I thought that Mono (JP) brought the beautiful melancholia to a quiet place and took it beyond other post rock bands. A noisy ensemble playing mostly quite, long pieces. The concert at Loppen yesterday was no way silent and I suddenly came to doubt if they had only brought peace to my mind, not to my ears?
I guess it was the right choice to go for the more rocking tunes, yet still complex and beautiful. I do appreciate the lacking or at least only slow development in melodies, and ever-continuing crescendos in post rock. But in the end I was bored by the lack of surprise.

Before I left left for the concert I listened to Liva Ventura, the Danish supporting act, at Myspace and decided to come early. “Until the days disappear” and “Connections” (if it wasn’t for the female vocals, sorry) are pretty good songs. I should be careful with namedropping, but it’s a up tempo version of Low frequency in Stereo, early Psyched Up Janis fuzz and reminisces of 90ies Sonic Youth clean guitars (I’m probably the only one to hear this). But first and foremost straight forward, good post rock: repetitive and driven by guitar riffs con amore. Their concert was decent and I do look forward to the album out on Play/rec in may.

Even more though I would like to recommend everyone with lust for NEU! and Silver Apples to listen to the new single from the Horrors. Psychedelic, transcendental and maybe overplayed? Sea within a sea at Youtube.

One Response to “Beautiful boring post rock: Mono at Loppen Copenhagen 2009”


  1. […] would be enough reason for me to see them. And talking about the heavy stuff I would recommend both Mono and Wolves in the Throne […]


Leave a Reply

